Eid al Fitr

The Muslim celebration of Eid al Fitr started yesterday at sundown. It marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.

Needless to say, Eid al Fitr is big here. It lasts three days and it feels like Christmas in the States; beforehand, the malls were packed with people buying gifts and during Eid the roads and malls are fairly empty.

I have the entire week off work which is very nice.

It seems providential that we are finally moving into our house in a few days. After 6 weeks painfully finding my way in the new job, living in a hotel waiting for my employer to find us accommodation and struggling through the most basic daily tasks like ordering pizza or picking up my laundry, we will finally have a place to call our own: a refuge, a home.

Learning to live abroad is not for wimps.

As I look back on the last 6 weeks I think, “Maybe this was my fast. A fast from everything familiar. A hunger for things to be more settled.” So I am asking myself, “Did it draw me closer to God? Did I use the adversity and frustration to grow and learn?” The answer is that sometimes I did and sometimes I didn’t. However, I think I walk away from it stronger from the experience.

But, now, the fast is somewhat over. The learning curve of the job is much less steep already and we have a place to call our own so we can really start to settle down and make Fujairah our home. We haven’t felt settled for over 10 months now.

Eid al Fitr is the Festival of Fast-Breaking.

Though we are not Muslim, we’re celebrating, too!

Explore posts in the same categories: Christianity, Cross-Cultural Experiences, Culture, Islam, Psychology

One Comment on “Eid al Fitr”

  1. Dawn Says:

    So glad that you are both getting settled. Wonderful to know that you are back to good health as well. Things are CRAZY here in the States. Hate, fear, racism, and disrespect that I have never known or seen in my 52 years. Be well and much love to you both.


Leave a Reply

