The Kindness of Strangers

The pity party seems to be over.

As usually happens, a few days after being really discouraged a burst of energy and excitement comes– like a mini Bi-Polar cycle.

Yesterday I had coffee with three new friends, all Americans living in the UAE. Without knowing me well at all, they offered any help I may need and prayed for my job search. All are Christians and it is encouraging and a privilege to see the Body of Christ function as a family. It is wild to think that I am a part of a worldwide family network. Yesterday I reaped the benefits of such an undying connection. I am very thankful.

One of those friends is a doctor at the American Hospital here in Dubai. After meeting with him and chatting, he introduced me to the gentleman at the sign-in desk. This help me obtain a visitors badge. With that clipped to my shirt, I visited different departments of the hospital dropping of my resume. I learned years ago that I am not a good salesman. Cold-calling with resume in hand is the same as making sales calls. Though I am naturally very extroverted, I hate making cold-calls. It intimidates me no end. Yesterday, however, it seemed easier. I think I have  reached a “I don’t give a crap” attitude that actually energizes and motivates me.

The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful. By his dress and features he must have been an ex-pat Arab– an Arab from another country, probably Lebanon. He was very patient with all my questions and several trips back to him to get more information. After I was able to hand my resume directly to a woman in charge of physician recruitment, I went back to the front desk to hand in my badge and check out. I said “Thank you, maybe I’ll get a job.” This man stood up with a kind look on his face, placed his hand on his heart and said “Inshallah. All the best. You are very welcome.” “Inshallah” means “God’s willing” in Arabic. His words and actions indicated that he took a personal interest in helping me and genuinely wished me the best.

Yesterday evening found me hobnobbing with several film people here in Dubai at a screening of two short films by Indian director Anand Gandhi. His first film “Right Here, Right Now” is about 30 minutes long, and is only 2 shots, 1 cut and 17 locations– amazing. I was invited to the screening by a film maker here in Dubai, Nayla Al Khafa, who was kind enough to personally answer my email to her asking about the industry here.

It seems clear to me that those who try to live the American ideal of “going it alone” or “pulling themselves up by their own bootstraps” are cutting themselves off from what God has intended– that we pull each other along and that we are never alone.

I have always relied on the kindness of strangers.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christianity, Cross-Cultural Experiences, Culture

2 Comments on “The Kindness of Strangers”

  1. Pop Says:

    Hang in there Boe. I love your blog. Moving to new strange lands is intimidating and can cause anxiety and excitement all at the same time. Your Mom and I have always used the trick of setting a time frame when things seemed unbearable. We would say, Ok, this is awful, this is not working out the way we hoped. Will suffer with it for six month (or a year) and see where we are and if it is no better then we will go back. Time dulls all pain even if it doesn’t always heal everything. Adversity is like a bad case of body gas. Just keep reminding yourself that “This to shall pass”

    Love you,
    Pop (dispensing the same ole crappy advice you grew up with)

  2. Charlanne Says:

    I’m so encouraged by this post of yours…for you guys as well as for the Body being alive and active in your life and around the globe. Thanks for continuing to share your journey.


Leave a Reply

